January 14, 2020

Top American prospects eligible for 2020 NHL Draft to compete at USA Hockey Arena Jan. 20

USA Hockey announced today that NHL Network will broadcast the BioSteel All-American Game on Monday Jan. 20, live from USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, Michigan. Coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET.

The game features the top American players eligible for the 2020 NHL Draft and this season, for the first time, the format has players from the U.S. National Under-18 Team of USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program -- Team Knuble, taking on the top draft-eligible American-born players from the USHL, the lone Tier I junior league in the United States -- Team Gomez. The teams are named after the honorary coaches for the contest, retired NHL stars Mike Knuble (Kentwood, Mich.) and Scott Gomez (Anchorage, Alaska).

NHL Network’s Stephen Nelson will provide play-by-play for the telecast along with longtime color commentator Craig Button and NHL Network’s Lauren Gardner as the rinkside reporter.

Tickets for the BioSteel All-American Game are currently on sale at the USA Hockey Arena box office or online, here.

To date, 188 alumni of the All-American Prospects Game have been drafted in the NHL, including 44 total first-round selections and a record 31 picks in last year’s NHL Draft. Standouts Jack Eichel (Buffalo Sabres), Noah Hanifin (Carolina Hurricanes), Dylan Larkin (Detroit Red Wings), Seth Jones (Columbus Blue Jackets) and Zach Werenski (Columbus Blue Jackets) are among the current NHL stars that have played in the game previously.

Notable players from last year’s contest include Jack Hughes (Orlando, Fla.), who was selected first overall by the New Jersey Devils, and the game’s most valuable player, Matt Boldy (Millis, Mass.), who was taken 12th overall by the Minnesota Wild at the 2019 NHL Draft in Vancouver.

NOTES: The BioSteel All-American Game takes the place of both the USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game and the USHL Top Prospects Game. The game is a joint effort between USA Hockey, the USHL and NHL .... The complete rosters for Team Gomez and Team Knuble can be found, here ... Previous coaches for the game include Phil Housley and Rob McClanahan in 2012; Mark Johnson and Joe Mullen in 2013; Mike Grier and Eddie Olczyk in 2014; Derek Plante and Jeremy Roenick in 2015; Mark Howe and John LeClair in 2016; Chris Chelios and Brian Leetch in 2017 and Jamie Langenbrunner and Jordan Leopold last year ... Previous host sites have included Buffalo, New York, (2012, 2014, 2015, 2017), Minnesota (2018), Pittsburgh (2013) and Philadelphia (2016) … For more information on the BioSteel All-American Game click here.